Personal tools

Number of visitors
since 27 March 2006
 
Document Actions

A new Yahoo! IM virus making rounds?

Click here to start saving with ING DIRECT!

Digg!

I intended this to be a statement rather than a question, but I find that I am not an authority on these subjects so I put it up as a question to the security community in general and the security researchers in particular. A couple of days back I received an instant message from one of my friends whom I trust explicitly. The link itself was suspicious but I thought that was her new website and photos so I naively clicked it.

It was a geocities web address which is a free web page hosting site. Now my computer is infected and at least two other people (my friends) have contacted me asking whether I sent a link to them on Yahoo! messenger. I don't know what it does or whether it is a virus at all or not. Or maybe it just harvests contacts and from my messenger and sends IM randomly (for something like a click fraud).

The web site address looks mighty suspicious and almost certainly pornographic but it is not. It points to a non-existant web page and geocities informs you that the page does not exist.

I am certain that I am infected by either a virus (which the latest McAfee signature does not detect) or spyware. I am not sure yet. I will run Anti-spyware tools and find out. But if it is a key stoke capture kind of malware, I have to be extra careful. Till now I have found out the following links that are rogue. Please do not click on any of these. I will disable the links, but do not copy paste them in your browser.

  • www.geocities.com/xx_lick.me_xx
  • www.geocities.com/lloxloxl_amber.taylor_loxloxll
The URL to Trackback this entry is:
http://www.dharwadkar.com/weblog/yahoovirus/tbping
Add comment

You can add a comment by filling out the form below. Plain text formatting.

(Required)
(Required)

Cloud VPS Hosting

Acronis True Image 2012 Special offer 125x125
iTunes, App Store, iBookstore, and Mac App Store

 
    This site is: